Getting my cocktail set soon - really excited!

privateidaho

Getting my cocktail set soon - really excited!

Post by privateidaho »

I've wanted a cocktail set for several years. At first, I was planning for a custom-made stave set, but the economy has forced me to scale back. So I'm going with HB drums, the black metal flake wrap at http://www.hbdrums.com/product/HBDBRETR ... -Ship.html

These are Chinese-made birch shells, assembled in the US. I am planning to replace the cheap cymbals with some quality ones. I am looking for a very small ride and I am thinking a 14-inch hihat cymbal would make a good mini-ride, no?
ricky

Re: Getting my cocktail set soon - really excited!

Post by ricky »

pics ?
tikifreak

Post by tikifreak »

privateidaho,
I have a cymbal I no longer use that you may be interested in for your kit:
14" A Zildjian & Cie Vintage Hi-Hat bottom cymbal - from 2005, rated "medium" at 1114 grams, engraved "Armand Zildjian" signature, Vintage logos intact, excellent condition $120. shipped (this sounds exactly like what you were looking for, a ride-able 14")
Let me know if you might be interested.

thanks,
tikifreak
Plano (Dallas), TX
matthew medeiros

Post by matthew medeiros »

privateidaho wrote:I've wanted a cocktail set for several years. At first, I was planning for a custom-made stave set, but the economy has forced me to scale back. So I'm going with HB drums, the black metal flake wrap at http://www.hbdrums.com/product/HBDBRETR ... -Ship.html

These are Chinese-made birch shells, assembled in the US. I am planning to replace the cheap cymbals with some quality ones. I am looking for a very small ride and I am thinking a 14-inch hihat cymbal would make a good mini-ride, no?
@private idaho: While a 14" hihat may make an OK ride, it won't really "crash" I use a mid '60s A-zildjian 18" as a ride and a crash. That way it does double duty. :P
Matthew
traleeman

Post by traleeman »