slingerland expresso

martin_likes_beer

slingerland expresso

Post by martin_likes_beer »

I really want to get myself one of these because they look so much fun and are about the only cocktail kit I can afford,
I can't help thinking they look too low though. Has anyone ever played one, and is it possible to play them while standing up?
Bruce (the K)

Affordable stand-up cocktail drum

Post by Bruce (the K) »

Hi Martin.

I believe the Slingerland Expresso is meant to be played sitting down. The only reason they call it a cocktail kit (in my opinion) is because it uses the floor tom bottom head as the kick and it is made very compact by mounting the snare to the floor tom. It seems more like what people call a "micro kit" to me.

If you're looking for an affordable stand-up cocktail kit, check out the Peace Manhattan cocktail drum. They go for $500 brand new from Music123.com but right now they have a returned kit for $400. I've been playing one for 6 months now and I love it. Needed a little (very minor) tweaking but it has a great snare sound and is designed to be played standing up. Here's the web site where you can check out a picture of it:

http://www.music123.com/search/?src=pea ... age22.y=13

Best of luck.

Bruce the K
Famous Willy

Other idea

Post by Famous Willy »