New Beater

mangorockfish

New Beater

Post by mangorockfish »

I don't know if any of you guys noticed the beater in the pics of my kit John posted. It is an old lambs wool one and it really sounds great. I doubt that you can find one of these anymore, however, Vater is making new ones. You should really think about trying one.
Mango'
jmettam
Site Admin

Wool Beater

Post by jmettam »

Hey Mango,

You know, I did notice that and was curious about the sound. I have a wooden DW beater on mine to get a little more attach out of my drum. But, it's a 14" so it needs all the extra help it can get. I bet the wool sounds great on a larger drum!

I thought that a couple of other companies out there still made them but I doubt that they are that popular!

Thanks for pointing it out.

- John
palacki808

beater

Post by palacki808 »

That's interesting. I've never used anything like that before. What does it do for the sound of the drum? I'd bet it really rounds out the tine nicely.

John mentioned using a plastic beater on his drum for more attack. I typically use a wood beater for the same reason. Danmar makes nice wood beaters that are stained red, I've always used these. Not only for the attack, but you also get a little more volume out of the drum. It helps when your trying to play with a horn section. Those horns get loud and you're not mic'ed you need all the help you can get sometimes.

-Joe
fw

Post by fw »

I like large, felt beaters, but I've found that they mess up the action of DW and Axis pedals. I just feel like the tiny beaters of today give more of a thwack sound than a boom sound. So I feel like I'm always compromising either speed or tone. I heard the lambswool beaters are really good for feathering the bass drum, but not so great for pounding it.