Which cocktail kit is right for me?

Bigbrain

Which cocktail kit is right for me?

Post by Bigbrain »

Hello,

What an excellent site and forum here...thanks to all who put this together. I'm a kit drummer and about to switch to a standing cocktail setup for a rockabilly act. I've read through many posts and there is a weatlh of information here. I'm still unsure on what to do so I'll hope someone else has already been down this road and is willing to share their widsom. Also, I've already played standing on a kick and snare set...I know how it feels and I'm comfortable (ok...semi-comfortable) on it.

My major considerations are:

1) I need a pro quality kit in terms of durability, sound, hardware, pedal, adjustability, etc.

2) I don't want to customize it...no bending of hardware or drilling holes. Change the heads, tune it, adjust the snares, minimal dampening is fine and I would expect to experiment with these.

3) I'll be playing only the cocktail drum as a bass and snare. No additional drums will be used.

4) I am 5'5" and unsure of how versatile the different vendors' kits are in terms of height adjustment, etc.

The way I see it now I have two main options: Club Jordan from Yamaha or custom order from Phattie. Problem is I can't play or really hear either as far as I can tell. No music store has cocktail sets on display--always order.

So, I'm open to anyone's suggestions. I'm willing to pay for quality. What do you think the best kit is for me?

Thanks in advance!!
jmettam
Site Admin

Post by jmettam »

Hey Brian,

Welcome to the Forum!

You also have another choice, buy a vintage cocktail drum!