Add an pearl popcorn snr. 10"-6" to my club jordan

jottesen

Add an pearl popcorn snr. 10"-6" to my club jordan

Post by jottesen »

Hello everyone

sometimes could I use a little more snaresound than my 8"-5" club jordan comes up with. :idea:

Then I have this pearl popcorn 10"-6" snr. a very nice drum , but much more weigth , could it be a problem (abouth 2,5 kg the pearl drum) :?: :?: :?:
then I need a tom system, should I mount a yess system and drill to holes i the drum :?: :twisted: or use a rims but the weigth again :?: or should I sell the drum and buy a Peter Erskine yamaha 10"-4" or 12"-4" snr.dr. or .............................................
any one :?: :?: :?: :idea: :idea: :idea: :idea: :lol: :lol: :lol:

have a nice day
Jesper
Pat McNeil

Post by Pat McNeil »

Hi Jesper,

I have no experience w/Rims, so I can't comment there, but I weighed similar alternatives to yours. My snare is 10 x 5 and fairly heavy. I thought about drilling the shell but decided against it. So, I have a cymbal stand that holds the snare drum and a 10" splash.

Perhaps someone's done something similar re: drilling the shell. Personally, I'd avoid doing it for fear of damaging the resale value, but that may not be an issue for you.

Pat
Captain Nemo

Post by Captain Nemo »

Well Jesper, I have the Peter Erskine picolino 10 by 4 which came with the yess mount that works great. The nice thing about this snare is that it sounds much deeper and bigger than you would think. I love the punch that it has.

On the other hand, there are plenty of thin snares that could be had used without spending to much money. I wouldn't be afraid of drilling them and cranking them up for a tight sound if you like that.

I prefer a deeper snare sound most of the time.
David St. Hubbins: It's such a fine line between stupid, and clever.
mangorockfish

Post by mangorockfish »

You can check out the aluminum RIMS mounts, they don't weigh much or one of the Gibralter claws for mounting your snare.