Question about getting started

scott

Question about getting started

Post by scott »

okay guys, new member here with a few questions I'm hoping you can help me with. First off, I've been playing drums for several years now but am just getting into the cocktail scene. Is there any other foot pedals that will work for the reverse effect for a floor tom? I see alot mentioned of the DW 5000 pedal, is that about the only choice out there or what? Another question is this, and I have read alot of the post already on here, but what is the general concenus of the the Global percussion sets that are on ebay right regularly? Is there a better route to take to build a set or what? Any advice would be appreciated. Great site, thanks guys.
jmettam
Site Admin

New Cocktail Drummer

Post by jmettam »

Hey Scott,

Welcome to the board!

As far as pedals, I think that there are several out there that will 'work' if you reverse them. The real questions is 'how well'? The DW pedals are very well made, professional pedals with a great amount of adjustability. The adjustability is part of what makes it good for a cocktail pedal. You can actually remove the cam and turn it around and then adjust the chain position to suit the new arrangement.

I have an old Slingerland pedal with a leather strap that someone literally attached the strap around the other way. It certainly works, and pretty well, but does not feel as solid as a properly converted pedal.

There are also plenty of Ludwig Speedmasters around (check eBay). They work well and are designed to be reversed. They are, however, a lighter weight pedal so it might not feel solid enbough for your needs.

As far as kits go, it looks like Global Percussion has upped the quality on their kits recently (maple shells instead of fiber resin and better hardware). So far the reviews are quite good and it's hard to beat the price!