getting out of the band

dickdog

getting out of the band

Post by dickdog »

I got my cocktail set about a year ago. I have now started jamming with a new band, after getting use to playing a cocktail set.. My problem is telling the band I have been playing with for 4 years that I am leaving. I want to leave on good terms, but I know how the leader of the band is, and i don't think he will like it if I tell him I am leaving. I have never had to do this before. Every other time it has been some kind of fight and the band has broken up, or you just tell them to f -off, and quit. HELP ME?????????????
bykrmyk

Post by bykrmyk »

You can't do much to control the band leader's reaction. Maybe the best you can hope for is that the other members will stay on good terms especially if the leader is unreasonable.

I'd just say that you are moving on. Want to do something different. It might help if you had some replacements to recommend. Drummers you know of who might be able to take your place. That would ease their transition and show you don't want to burn any bridges.

Good luck. Change usually comes at some cost.
Dinkus

Post by Dinkus »