Getting set up to go!

Daddy-O

Getting set up to go!

Post by Daddy-O »

Well, the GP75 arrived the other day. I've never owned a drum kit, I mean heck, I'm a noob to drums, having "discovered" them while learning bagpipe and side snare in a pipe and drum band.

Anyway, I thought the GP75 would be a good way to get going without spending a whole lot. So far, so good--you get what you pay for, but it's a nice looking kit even if the edges of the shells are a little ragged. The heads, even to my ears, are junk. One thing at a time, I guess.

I have some very definite ideas of what I want to hear from drums, and I'm working toward that end. I found that I could get that nice, wet-sounding rock THUD! from the kick end by cutting a velor blanket to the same size as the head and taping it inside the shell against the resonating head.

I like toms to sound like "sing, sing, sing" so I am dialing in the upper end of the 15X24 as well as the 10" tom to sound like that. My snare sound is not there yet. Generally, I've managed to get the kit tuned in 4ths, C-F-B, low to high. I have no idea if that's right, but it's OK enough to play for now!

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!
Daddy-O

Post by Daddy-O »

Hmm...the experiment continues. I went back--still happy with my kick sound, but not really happy with anything else. I was tuned too high--like a set of bongos. I went back, turned everything down to "just above wrinkle," and kept at it until I could hear the natural voice of the drum open up. Waaay better....

I'm sure it's a never-ending process... :D
zimbop

Post by zimbop »

It's really all about what sounds good to YOU. Have fun and keep experimenting. I am still in search of that elusive perfect thud but it's coming slowly. The closest I've gotten to a wet sound is with a hydraulic head, but with a single-ply on top it still rings too much. I've tried e-rings but no other dampening so far.