My Meinl cajon drum set

Bruce (the K)

My Meinl cajon drum set

Post by Bruce (the K) »

I'm still a dyed-in-the-wool cocktail drummer who prefers playing drums standing up. However, I'm also a committed minimalist who can't stand carrying anything extra. I'm also into playing at low volume to accompany acoustic, vocal-harmony-focused music. All that to say, I've stumbled onto the cajon drum set scene.

I've never owned a drummer's throne but, if I'm carrying a cajon to the gig, I don't see anything wrong with sitting on it once I'm there. I didn't have much of what I needed to make a cajon-centered drum set so I got a Meinl build-your-own cajon kit, a cajon snare drum and a low hi-hat cymbal stand to clamp the cajon snare to. I have 12-inch hats for my cocktail kit but I got 10-inch Stagg hats for this set-up. I also needed a cajon pedal so I could play the cajon itself as my bass drum, leaving both my hands free to play the snare and hi-hat, using bundled Cool Rods.

Cajon pedals are a scene in themselves, with lots of interesting variations in how they do the job. After some research, I settled on the Meinl direct-drive 'pedal,' which has this weird curved bar instead of a pedal. It looks strange but it is very simple mechanically and I got used to it very quickly. Many of the other pedals use cables to connect a conventional pedal to the beater assembly and there are lots of complaints about their 'feel' and about the cables breaking during gigs. There are also more complex direct-drive pedals that are much more expensive so I decided to keep it simple. No regrets on that, so far.